More than 30 Chicago leaders issued the following call for unity following inflammatory tactics from the Preckwinkle campaign in the final days of the race.

“We are coming together today to say that Chicagoans should not be moved by the distortions and politics of division that have marked these closing days of the city’s mayoral race and to call on the Preckwinkle campaign to drop these inflammatory tactics. There is no room in today’s Chicago for old-school politics that seek to split Chicago along racial, sexual orientation, neighborhood or any other dividing line. Whoever is elected mayor one week from today must lead a city that faces many challenges. That mayor must have Chicago behind her – all of Chicago.

“At this moment, when we have seen nationally and globally that divisive rhetoric can lead to violence, we are compelled to call for restraint. Political differences can quickly enough turn to anger, and candidates can appeal to the worst of our natures or the best. For the sake of peace on our streets and unity as we work to build a better Chicago, we urge the Preckwinkle campaign to heed our concerns. Whatever the outcome on election day, Toni Preckwinkle will hold a position of leadership in our city or county and she should not destroy the moral authority she will need.”

Congresswoman Robin Kelly

State Representative Sara Feigenholtz

Alderman Derrick Curtis

Alderman Emma Mitts

Alderman Matthew O’Shea

Alderman Michele Smith

Alderman Tom Tunney

Alderman Gilbert Villegas

Alderman Scott Waguespack

Former State Representative Litesa Wallace

Former County Clerk David Orr

Former Cook County Commissioner Richard Boykin

Former Alderman Martin Oberman

Former Alderman Dick Simpson

Former mayoral candidate Dr. Willie Wilson

Former mayoral candidate Gery Chico

Former mayoral candidate Paul Vallas

Chicago Firefighters Union Local 2

Former CFD Fire Commissioner James T. Joyce

CFD Paramedic Chief Patrick Fitzmaurice

Amalgamated Transit Union Local 241 President Keith Hill

Indivisible Illinois 9th, Andersonville-Edgewater

Equality Illinois PAC

LGBTQ Victory Fund

Reverend Ira Acree

Father Michael Pfleger

Bishop Larry Trotter

Our Revolution Chicago Chair Clem Balanoff

Randall K. Blakey

Jobi Cates

Community leader Ra Joy

Edwin Eisendrath

Sarah Pang

Shari Runner